824,209 books read so far
More

News

The latest Summer Reading Challenge news plus blogs and messages from your favourite authors and illustrators

Happy Roald Dahl Day!

September 13th is Roald Dahl Day, when fans all over the world celebrate this wonderful writer’s birthday!

Last year’s Summer Reading Challenge, The Big Friendly Read, was inspired by Dahl and his brilliant characters.

Over 755,000 of you t… read more

13 September 2017

Book review: The Polar Bear Explorers' Club

The Polar Bear Explorers’ Club is an exciting new adventure story that’s perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket and Northern Lights.

Here to tell us all about the book is Erin, 11, from Essex

Erin’s favourite hobbies are dancing, drawing, and wa… read more

7 September 2017

Add books, get badges!

The Summer Reading Challenge website is available all year round, so you can play games, enter competitions and keep track of all the brilliant books you’ve read!

To add a book, look out for the purple button that says ‘Add a new book now’.
read more

4 September 2017