900,211 books read so far
More

Winter Mini Challenge: Reading Recommendations

Thanks to Nosy Crow we have a flurry of great books to recommend this winter!

There’s a Werewolf In My Tent! by Pamela Butchart & Thomas Flintham

Izzy and her friends are SO EXCITED about their school trip.
They’re going camping and there’ll be marshmallows and no washing and everything.
But then WEIRD things start happening! There are howling sounds at night, and some sausages have gone missing, and it’s nearly a full moon…
But it’s when they see their new teacher’s hairy legs that they KNOW!
There’s a werewolf on the school trip and they’re all DOOMED!

Officer Panther Waterfall said:
It was hilarious, exciting and just a really good read. I strongly recommend this book. I couldn’t put it down

 

A Kitten Called Holly by Helen Peters & Ellie Snowdon

When Jasmine and Tom rescue an abandoned kitten, they are desperate to keep her.
But Jasmine’s parents insist that Holly must be sold. Jasmine and Tom are determined to give Holly the best ever Christmas present – a good home…
This is a truly heart-warming winter story perfect for animal lovers!

 

Snow Sisters: The Silver Secret by Astrid Foss & Monique Dong

The evil Shadow Witch wants to steal the Everchanging Lights right out of the sky!
The Snow Sisters will need all their magic to stop her turning their world dark for ever…
In their first adventure, the girls sneak away from their castle for a night-time quest through the frozen forest. Can they find the pink Everchanging Light before the Shadow Witch snatches it for herself?

 

Max the Detective Cat: The Disappearing Diva by Sarah Todd Taylor & Nicola Kinnear

Max, chief mouse-hunter at the Theatre Royal, is up to his whiskers in his first mystery!
Madame Emerald, famous singer and dreadful diva, is behaving strangely and it’s down to a clever cat with a handsome tail to find out why…
So, GASP as Max leaps across the rooftops!
SHIVER as he stages a daring night-time rescue!
And APPLAUD the cat who puts the miaow into mystery!

Wigglesbottom Primary: Super Dog! by Pamela Butchart & Becka Moor

Is that a superhero dog on the school roof? YES!
Is the lunchtime mashed potato really, really weird? YES!
Does Susie Keys own an alien egg? YES!

So what are Class 2R going to do about it all? Have a lot of fun!
Three hilarious school stories filled fun and adventure from award-winning Pamela Butchart.

Queen Orchid Quest said:
This book was one of the best books I have ever read

 

Shifty McGifty and Slippery Sam: Jingle Bells! by Tracey Corderoy & Steven Lenton

Shifty and Sam have a lot on their plates! Someone has stolen all of Santa’s presents! A sea monster is spoiling fairground fun day. And a weird cat has cursed Sam!
Pass the buns, it’s going to be a rollercoaster ride!
Three hilarious stories full of bravery and baking starring everyone’s favourite detective dogs, Shifty and Sam.

My Arch-Enemy Is a Brain In a Jar by David Solomons

Luke and his brother have swapped bodies by accident. Zack’s got Luke’s weird feet while Luke has Zack’s SUPERPOWERS!
Now he needs another world-threatening adventure to try them out. Could a family mini-break at Great Minds Leisure Park be his chance?
Probably, because that’s where his super-clever arch-enemy lurks, fermenting dastardly plans and bubbling gently…
This is a NEW superpowered adventure perfect for fans of My Brother is a Superhero.

 

Murder At Twilight by Fleur Hitchcock

Noah has gone missing. It’s cold and dark, and the rain won’t stop falling.
As the flood waters begin to rise, can Viv find him before it’s too late?
Murder at Twilight is a spine-tingling thriller that will have you hooked until the very last page.


Ready for some more recommendations yet-i?!

Take a peek at these page-turners


Tell us about the books you’re loving this winter!
Join in the fun on our Chat page and let everyone know how you’re getting on in the Mini Challenge