Skip to content

1,349,462 books read so far

Summer Reading Challenge 2020

Join the Silly Squad

Horse Giraffe Bear Penguin Take the challenge
Celebrate National Poetry Day!

Celebrate National Poetry Day!

Celebrate National Poetry Day! image

National Poetry Day is the perfect day to enjoy, discover and share poems!

This year it's celebrated on Thursday 28 September and the theme is "Freedom"

Keep an eye out for our top poetry recommendations, or give the Book Sorter a spin to fi… read more

23 September 2017

Happy Roald Dahl Day!

Happy Roald Dahl Day!

September 13th is Roald Dahl Day, when fans all over the world celebrate this wonderful writer's birthday!

Last year's Summer Reading Challenge, The Big Friendly Read, was inspired by Dahl and his brilliant characters.

Over 755,000 of you t… read more

13 September 2017

Book review: The Polar Bear Explorers' Club

Book review: The Polar Bear Explorers' Club

The Polar Bear Explorers' Club is an exciting new adventure story that's perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket and Northern Lights.

Here to tell us all about the book is Erin, 11, from Essex

Erin's favourite hobbies are dancing, drawing, and wa… read more

7 September 2017

Add books, get badges!

Add books, get badges!

The Summer Reading Challenge website is available all year round, so you can play games, enter competitions and keep track of all the brilliant books you've read!

To add a book, look out for the purple button that says 'Add a new book now'.
read more

4 September 2017

Summer Shout Outs!

Summer Shout Outs!

Drum roll please…

We're giving a very special shout out to…

the fantastic Fairy Bunny Bucket AND the brilliant Judge Bijou Hoverboard

Bunny and Bijou took part in our special Bank Holiday Bingo challenge!

See if you can follow … read more

4 September 2017