Skip to content

2,084,467 books read so far

Alice Dent and the Incredible Germs

Gwen Lowe

Alice Dent and the Incredible Germs

Subjects

  • Funny Stuff - rib ticklers to make you fall off your chair
  • Action Adventures - chills, thrills and plenty of spills
  • Fantasy Worlds - awesome adventures of magic and mystery

Average rating

3 out 5

A brilliantly original, fast-paced and funny debut novel - perfect for fans of Roald Dahl! ' ... an enjoyable read full of plot twists with a clever mixture of really funny and rather scary moments and really nice and truly horrendous characters.' THE PRIMARY TIMES When Alice Dent gets a cold, she has no idea how much trouble it’s about to cause. Because this is no ordinary cold: it comes with some seriously extraordinary side-effects. But when the scary Best Minister for Everything Nicely Perfect tries to take her away, she realizes her troubles are only just beginning … Bursting with quirky charm and dark Dahl-esque humour; guaranteed to make you giggle! Written by debut Welsh author Gwen Lowe, who is Consultant in Communicable Disease Control for Public Health Wales. With its plucky heroine and dastardly villains, this book is perfect for younger fans of Dahl, Walliams, and The Demon Headmaster. Themes of friendship and fitting in are at the heart of the story.

Information for adults

Schools

Visit our School Zone to access free resources and Challenge ideas for your class.

Families

Visit our Home Zone, full of useful Challenge information for parents, grandparents and carers. For information about supporting reading in the early years visit our Pre-School Zone.

Libraries

Visit our Library Zone to find libraries near you running the challenge, and how to take part.